2016. feb 07.

Gevgelija

írta: gkakuk
Gevgelija

We were sitting in the dust about an hour. I have joined a group of twenty thirty people. Actually the group or more excatly Abdulrahman from Homs have choosen me. A twentyfive year old Syrian who worked for a hospital as IT technician, beside that he studied as well. Now he is heading to Norway. Bigger part of his family is already there.

- You know, first they smashed the hospital, I have lost my job, there was nowhere to work, then they fucked my school. That was the moment when I said, ok lets get out of here.

They came up on the usual path. First Turkey, then Kos by a dinghi, Thessaloniki bus station Idomeni.

- Iˋm afraid of Hungary. This is peanuts. That the place where the moment of truth comes.

- Why do you think that.

- That is place where it will be decided that can we go further or not. Thats why.

We were somewhere here when the young Macedonian police office came to us. You can go. I donˋt ask, he just nods.

- But no video! I donˋt turn around. Then says: "molim vas" (would you please). Thumb up. Then no video.

On our right the railway, left corn fields. We moved slowly in the balzing heat. Then a mild curve came, after the gravel road narrowed down to a foot path. Less then half an hour we arrived to the famous rusty railway bridge of Gevgelija. But we did not crossed that bridge. It was not necessary. On the left there was a brand new road bridge. Actually one of the most surreal thing I have ever seen in my life. On the south the bridge leads to nowhere. The other side there is a firm traffic sign: dead end street, and of course another sign that this bridge was finaced by the EUˋs Neighborhood Program. Surely a local somebody made a decent fortune on this. Mind my word: a fucking dead end bridge was built on EU money!

The railway station is only 15O meter. All the comfortable, places in the shade are already occupied. The biggest crowd is at the gate of the local police station. This where the asylum papers are distributed, certainly after a due process. The paper authorizes the the holder to stay in Macedonia for 72 hours. Abdulrahman is well prepared. I donˋt know from where but he know that the Red Cross people will help him, beacuse his brother has diabetes. Within an hour he has the papers for both of them in hand.

- Ok. Now I go to find some transport to the Serbian border.

I think he saw that I am was little bit puzzled.

- You know, we are lucky. We did not spent much during this trip, so now we can allow a separate transport for us. Maybe a a hotel too.

The it became clear fast. The class system are here, and everywhere. Among the refugees too.  

Szólj hozzá

english Macedonia Greece refugees El Camino De Balkan Gyorgy Kakuk refugeecrisis